Close Bridge warning when updating Camera Raw

Photoshop will not update – Close Bridge warning. This is a common issue with updating recent Adobe products as there is an Advanced Bridge Preference check box for Start Bridge at Logon which is checked by default. This does not actually load the program itself, it loads a small program into memory so that when you do “start” Bridge it appears to load more quickly. This is a programmers trick and it doesn’t appear that Bridge is open as no icon will show up, and when you “close” Bridge, the smaller program remains active which messes with the update process.

There are two ways to handle the issue. First, if you can stand to wait an extra few seconds when you start the program, uncheck the box in the Bridge Preferences (Advanced tab) so that the offending program never loads. If you are trying to update and the issue is current, you can use Task Manager in Windows to find the Bridge process and stop it. I suggest modifying the Preferences so that the problem does not keep popping up every time there is a Camera Raw update to be installed.

Advertisements

Author: Bryson

Architectural/Commercial/Industrial Photographer - Digital Photography and Photoshop Educator

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s